European Mobility Week Award

The European Mobility Week Award scheme aims to reward the local authority that is deemed to have done the most in raising public awareness of sustainable mobility issues and implementing measures to achieve a shift towards sustainable urban transport.

The winning city is chosen by an independent panel of transport experts who assess all eligible applications and shortlist 10 local authorities which they consider have performed outstandingly well.

Östersund (Sweden) has been announced as the winner of the 2014 EMW Award.

Östersund wins the 2014 EMW Award

The city of Östersund (Sweden) was presented with the 2014 EMW Award at a European Commission ceremony in Brussels (Belgium) on 23 March. The city's application was judged by a panel of distinguished sustainable mobility experts to have employed the most innovative and creative measures when celebrating last year's EMW theme, 'Our streets, our choice'. As a prize, Östersund will receive a three-minute video celebrating their mobility achievements.

Östersund is a long-standing EMW participant and was also a finalist for the 2013 Award. Last year the city made cooperation and inclusion central to its Mobility Week, demonstrating this through events such as a three-day course teaching young migrants how to cycle. Östersund is also a lead partner in the Green Highway project, which aims to establish a 440 kilometre fossil fuel-free route across Sweden and Norway.

Östersund's fellow finalists were Murcia (Spain) and Vienna (Austria), who were selected from a shortlist of ten cities. The finalists and shortlisted cities are all recognised as examples of best practice for their efforts in celebrating last year's EMW theme. For this year's edition of the award, 38 applications from 16 countries were received.

Bremen (Germany) was presented with the 2014 SUMP Award by EU Commissioner for Transport Violeta Bulc at the same ceremony. Bremen will take home €10,000, which can be spent on further promoting their SUMP. The other finalists for the 2014 SUMP award were Dresden (Germany) and Ghent (Belgium), selected by an expert jury from 17 applications from 10 countries. A more detailed description of each SUMP Award finalist can be found here.

The other cities shortlisted for the 2014 EMW Award were:

  • Budapest (Hungary)
  • Gexto (Spain)
  • Larnaka (Cyprus)
  • Léon (Spain)
  • Palma de Mallorca (Spain)
  • Skopje (Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia)
  • Zagreb (Croatia)

For more information about EMW 2014 activities in all the shortlisted cities, click here [PDF 355kb]


Impressions of the 2014 award ceremony